Alma books shares its passion for Russian fiction

Having studied Russian at university, I felt I had to share my passion for Russian literature with British readers. At Hesperus Press I published many lesser-known works by major Russian writers such as Gogol, Pushkin, Dostoevsky, Bulgakov, Leskov and Tolstoy. Since launching Oneworld Classics and Alma Books in 2005, I have continued my original project on a more ambitious scale and have expanded it to include works by contemporary Russian authors.

Alexander Terekhov's novel The Rat-Killer - published by Alma Books in June 2008 and influenced by the author's experience of growing up in a small industrial town in central Russia - is definitely one of the best Russian books I have ever read. It is a work, which has the power both to inform new, non-Russian audiences about contemporary Russia, and to communicate a universal message about what lies behind the veneer of civilization, wherever it is found. The novel deals with greed, corruption and self-delusion, as the powers-that-be seek to create and commodify a non-existent pre-Soviet history for their town. The Rat-Killer points uncomfortably to the unpalatable possibility that human society is no more civilized than a rat's colony. With its black humour and piercing satirical insight, this book can be located in the classical Russian tradition, but also incorporates elements from the experimental aesthetic of Soviet-era writing. I strongly believe this book can become a classic of the future, and recommend it to all readers who enjoyed Bulgakov's Master and Margarita (which Oneworld Classics has just published in a new translation by Hugh Aplin) or Bely's Petersburg (to be published in November by Pushkin Press in a new translation by John Elsworth).

Another book I am looking forward to publishing (in the autumn of 2009) is Live Souls, by one of the greatest living Russian authors, Dmitri Bykov. The book has become a bombshell in Russia since its publication two years ago, and I am sure it is destined to leave a profound mark on the consciousnesses of Western readers.

I believe that Russian writing has been and continues to be one of the greatest driving forces of world literature, and I hope that more and more people will be converted to its charms.

All rights reserved by Rossiyskaya Gazeta.

More exciting stories and videos on Russia Beyond's Facebook page

This website uses cookies. Click here to find out more.

Accept cookies