Russia names 2018 World Cup host cities

Russia has unveiled the FIFA-approved list of eleven cities that will host the World Cup in 2018 and they are: St. Petersburg, Yekaterinburg, Sochi, Kazan, Nizhny Novgorod, Samara, Rostov-on-Don, Kaliningrad, Volgograd, Saransk and Moscow.

Krasnodar and Yaroslavl, also nominated, have dropped out of the list.

In Moscow matches will be played at the Luzhniki sports center and at the Spartak stadium currently under construction in the Tushino residential area.

The host cities were named in a ceremony in Moscow on Saturday, broadcast live on Channel One.

All rights reserved by Rossiyskaya Gazeta.

This website uses cookies. Click here to find out more.

Accept cookies