Federation Council approves CSTO collective security forces' agreement

The Federation Council has approved an agreement on the status of forces of the Collective Security Treaty Organization's (CSTO) collective security system.

Russia, Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan signed the document in Moscow on December 10, 2010. Uzbekistan is the only member country, which has not joined the agreement.

The agreement stipulates the formation of the CSTO Collective Operational Reaction Force. The force comprises military units, the police, the Interior Ministry forces, security services and agencies that prevent and clean up emergency situations in CSTO member countries.

"The agreement shall regulate the assignment, deployment and re-deployment of collective security system forces on the territory of the host country, as well as export and import of property, transit procedure and terms, procedure of crossing the border of the host country and compensation of damage," says an explanatory note to the document.

The CSTO Collective Security Council is entitled to decide on the deployment of military units, their size, makeup and subordination by an official request of one or several members of the agreement.

The State Duma ratified the agreement on Nov. 16.

All rights reserved by Rossiyskaya Gazeta.

This website uses cookies. Click here to find out more.

Accept cookies