Naryshkin, four faction leaders author response to Magnitsky Act

State Duma Speaker Sergei Naryshkin and the heads of four parliamentary groups - Vladimir Vasilyev (United Russia), Vladimir Zhirinovsky (the Liberal Democratic Party), Gennady Zyuganov (the Communist Party) and Sergei Mironov (A Just Russia) - authored the bill of the Russian parliament retaliating the U.S. Magnitsky Act.

"A draft law on measures of influence on persons involved in violations of the rights of Russian citizens" was officially submitted to the lower house and registered in the house database on Monday.

The draft has been submitted to the State Duma Constitutional Legislation and State Development Committee for being prepared for the first reading.

The first reading may take place on Monday, and the draft may be endorsed before the end of this week.

The draft says the law will enter into force on January 1, 2013.

All rights reserved by Rossiyskaya Gazeta.

We've got more than 2 million followers on Facebook. Join them!

This website uses cookies. Click here to find out more.

Accept cookies