Borisoglebsky Monastery, founded in honor of the first Russian saints

18 km from Rostov lies the settlement of Borisoglebsky. Its main attraction is the monastery, founded in honor of the first Russian saints, Prince Boris and Prince Gleb.
Borisoglebsky Monastery is a male Orthodox monastery on the road from Rostov to Uglich (in the village of Borisoglebsky), part of Russia's Golden Ring.
With its shrines, historical monuments, and picturesque location, this ancient monastery is one of the finest in Russia.
The location of the monastery was very advantageous. The road from Moscow and Rostov to Uglich passed nearby, continuing onwards to Kargopol and Beloozero. The Ustye River remained navigable most likely until the end of the 17th century.
The monastery was founded by the Novgorod monks Fedor and Pavel in 1363.
The architectural complex of the monastery took shape before the Peter the Great's rule, when it was one of Rostov's most prosperous dioceses.
The building facades clearly reflect the influence of Italian architects who worked in Moscow at the beginning of the 16th century.
Borisoglebsky Monastery was loved by Moscow's princes and the first Russian tsars, who regarded it as "home."
The first stone structure at Borisoglebsky Monastery was St. Boris and Gleb Cathedral.
During holidays and festivals, a rich fair traditionally took place by the walls of the monastery.
In 1764, Catherine II presented the settlements to her favorite, Count Grigory Orlov.
Borisoglebsky Monastery was officially deconsecrated in 1924. Some of the buildings were transferred to Rostov State Museum.
In 1962, the former monastic settlements received the status of urban locality.
The monastery was reconsecrated in 1994.
A branch of the Rostov Kremlin State Museum now stands on the site of Borisoglebsky Monastery.

All rights reserved by Rossiyskaya Gazeta.

We've got more than 1,5 million followers on Facebook. Join them!

This website uses cookies. Click here to find out more.

Accept cookies