What's hidden in the mountains of Chechnya

Chechnya is a republic of Russia in the North Caucasus within 62 miles of the Caspian Sea. The capital is Grozny.

Following two brutal wars in Chechnya in the 1990s, sectarian violence and the ongoing insurgency spilled over into neighbouring regions over the next decade. In 2010, then-President Dmitry Medvedev announced a broad initiative to channel federal funding into mostly tourist projects across the entire scenic North Caucasus Mountains.

The Chechen Republic is not yet safe for independent tourists, but the region is working on attracting tourists from all over the world by offering various “all-included” tours for foreigners. The nature here is well preserved, and the lack of big cities makes the air fresh and the lakes crystal clear.

Officially, the Chechen Republic consists of 3 cities and 17 administrative divisions, and each border has a checkpoint where local authorities check travelers’ documents. The checkpoints are one of the region’s "terrorism prevention" measures.

All rights reserved by Rossiyskaya Gazeta.

We've got more than 1,7 million followers on Facebook. Join them!
Read more

This website uses cookies. Click here to find out more.

Accept cookies