Denmark’s Emmelie de Forest Wins 2013 Eurovision

Denmark’s Emmelie de Forest won in the final of 2013 Eurovision, Europe’s most popular song contest, after performing her song “Only Teardrops” at the Malmo Arena in Sweden.

The grand finale was held May 18 featuring 26 performers - 20 winners of the two semi-finals, as well as representatives of the host country Sweden and the "Big Five" (the founders and the main sponsors of the contest - France, Germany, Italy, Spain and the UK).

Russia’s Dina Garipova with her song “What If” finished in the fifth place. Garipova, 22, who was picked as Russia’s entry at Eurovision after winning the popular "Voice" television show last year.

The top ten of the 2013 Eurovision is as follows: Denmark, Azerbaijan, Ukraine, Norway, Greece, Italy, Malta, the Netherlands and Hungary.

Last year’s Eurovision winner was Loreen from Sweden. Russia’s folk group Buranovskiye Babushki (Buranovo Grannies) finished in the second place.

Next year’s Eurovision will take place in Emmelie de Forest’s country, Denmark.

First published in RIA Novosti.

All rights reserved by Rossiyskaya Gazeta.

We've got more than 2 million followers on Facebook. Join them!

This website uses cookies. Click here to find out more.

Accept cookies