U.S. issues new sanctions against pro-Russian separatists

The U.S. Treasury Department has issued a statement announcing new sanctions against eight pro-Russian Ukrainian separatists and one youth organization as well as one bank currently operating in Crimea. These sanctions follow similar action taken by the European Union and Canada on Feb. 16. 

“From the start of this crisis, we have demonstrated that we will impose costs on those who violate the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Ukraine.  That includes individuals, organizations, businesses, and the governments that support them,” said Acting Under Secretary for Terrorism and Financial Intelligence Adam J. Szubin.  “If Russia continues to support destabilizing activity in Ukraine and violate the Minsk agreements and implementation plan, the already substantial costs it faces will continue to rise.”

The statement reiterated the need to support the Minsk Agreements to find a solution to the crisis. “The United States supports the Minsk agreements and views them as the best means to a diplomatic resolution of the conflict in eastern Ukraine.  The proof of Russia’s peaceful intentions in Ukraine would be in its full and unambiguous implementation of the September Minsk agreements and the February 12 Minsk Implementation Plan,” the statement read.

The list of the sancioned people can be found at the U.S. Treasury Department web-site.

Read more: Russian teen powerlifter hands Donbass children's letter to Schwarzenegger

All rights reserved by Rossiyskaya Gazeta.

This website uses cookies. Click here to find out more.

Accept cookies