Russia extends counter-sanctions against U.S., EU, Canada, Australia, Norway

The food embargo has been extended by a year against goods from the United States, the European Union, Canada, Australia and Norway.

"The ban on import of certain types of agricultural products, raw material and food, whose country of origin is the U.S., any EU country, Canada, Australia and Norway, have been extended by one year," the government said on its website.

The Russian government has also approved a new version of the list of agricultural products, raw material and food whose export to Russia is banned.

"In particular, baby trout (Oncorhynchus mykiss) and oyster and mussel spat have been removed from the list. This will help increase the output of aquatic organisms sought-after on the Russian market, set up new fishing farms and support the existing ones," the government said in the document.

In addition, the list now includes "food or ready products made according to cheese-making technologies, with the milk fat content of 1.5% or above."

The Russian government has also banned the import of lactose-free dairy products, with the exception of specialized and dietary, the government said in a decree posted on the Cabinet of Ministers website. The import of lactose-free products for nutritional therapy and protective diet is allowed.

Read more: Russia to respond to sanctions extension by EU

All rights reserved by Rossiyskaya Gazeta.

We've got more than 1,8 million followers on Facebook. Join them!

This website uses cookies. Click here to find out more.

Accept cookies