Lavrov to meet with counterparts from SCO members in Tashkent

Russian Foreign Minister will take part in a meeting to drawn up documents

Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov till take part in a meeting of the foreign ministers of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) member-states in Tashkent on May 23-24, at which documents for a meeting of the SCO leaders should be drawn up.

"Special significance will be attached to discussions of SCO enlargement aspects, primarily the procedure of India's and Pakistan's admission to the organization," the Russian Foreign Ministry said in a statement on its website on May 21.

The agenda also includes the drafting of such documents as an SCO convention on fighting extremism, an anti-drug strategy of the SCO member-states for 2017-2022, a program of action toward its implementation, and some others, the statement says.

"Practical work will be planned on the basis of the action plan for 2016-2020 aimed at implementing the SCO development strategy in the period up to 2025," it said.

The SCO members are China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan. Afghanistan, Belarus, Iran, and Mongolia have observer status, and Armenia, Azerbaijan, Cambodia, Nepal, Sri Lanka, and Turkey are dialogue partners.

The participants in an SCO summit in Ufa in July 2015 decided to start an admission procedure for India and Pakistan. Uzbekistan took over the SCO presidency at that summit.

Read more: Nepal granted SCO dialogue partner status

All rights reserved by Rossiyskaya Gazeta.

We've got more than 2 million followers on Facebook. Join them!

This website uses cookies. Click here to find out more.

Accept cookies